Maryland FFA members excel at 95th national convention

by | Nov 4, 2022

Maryland FFA members earning American FFA Degree during the National Convention 2022 were, from left, Abigail Wimmer, Westminster; Abigail Kinnaird, Catoctin; Austin Welty, Linganore; Sierra Weatherly, Catoctin; Molly Harbaugh, Frederick CTC. In the top photo, Francis Scott Key Dairy Evaluation Team placed 10th at this year’s National FFA Convention, receiving Gold Medals in the National Event. From left is Shelby Althoff, chapter advisor; Kelsey Zepp, 6th Gold; Gabe Dell, Gold; Bodey Griffin (Dairy Hander), Silver; Payton Zepp, 8th Gold; and Jordy Griffin, coach. Team member, Bryce Zepp, not pictured, also received Gold. (Photos courtesy Maryland Agricultural Education Foundation)

INDIANAPOLIS — Maryland FFA members, chapters and supporters were recognized for their achievements during the 95th National FFA Convention held on Oct. 26-29.
Maryland FFA members participated in 24 of the National FFA Career and Leadership Development Events.
Five Maryland FFA members captured top 10 honors in their respective career development events.
Others honored were Frank DeLucia-second place in Environmental & Natural Resource Management, North Harford FFA; Caroline McDonald-sixth place in Veterinary Science, Tuscarora FFA; Kelsey Zepp-sixth place and high individual award in Holsteins in Dairy Evaluation and Bryce Zepp-eighth place in Dairy Evaluation both from the Francis Scott Key FFA and Brianna Bongard-9th place in Horse Evaluation, Middletown FFA. These members received a medallion and cash award. Also receiving gold medal recognitions were Emily Cassidy in Nursery/Landscaping, Jonathan VanBuskirk and Ryan Layman in Environmental & Natural Resources, all from the North Harford FFA and Aaron Eng in Forestry, Linganore FFA.
The North Harford Environmental & Natural Resources team placed 3rd and the Francis Scott Key FFA Dairy Evaluation team placed 10th nationally.
Silver Medal teams and individuals included Catoctin-Livestock Evaluation; Francis Scott Key-Dairy Handling (Bodey Griffin); Linganore-Creed Speaking (Sierra Howell) and Forestry; Middletown-Horse Evaluation; Southern-Farm Business Management; and Tuscarora-Veterinary Science.
Bronze Medal Teams and individuals included Catoctin-Agriculture Issues, Agriculture Sales, Marketing Plan and Extemporaneous Public Speaking (Kendall Abruzzese); Francis Scott Key-Conduct of Chapter Meetings; Frederick-Food Science; Howard County ARL-Prepared Public Speaking (Lilliana Sonpar); Linganore-Parliamentary Procedure; Northern Garrett-Employment Skills (Christy Enlow); North Harford-Meat Evaluation, Nursery/Landscaping; Walkersville-Agricultural Power & Technology, Agronomy, Milk Quality & Products and Poultry.
The American FFA Degree Members who have successfully completed 540 hours of agricultural education instruction, productively invested $7,500 or $2,000 and 2,250 hours in a supervised agricultural experience program and demonstrated leadership abilities above the state level are eligible for the American FFA Degree.
As the highest degree achievable in the National FFA Organization, the American FFA Degree shows an FFA member’s dedication to his or her chapter and state FFA association. It demonstrates the effort FFA members apply toward their supervised agricultural experience and the outstanding leadership abilities and community involvement they exhibited through their FFA career.
Less than 1 percent of the total National FFA membership receive this degree. Maryland recipients this year were Abigail Kinnaird and Sierra Weatherly, Catoctin FFA; Molly Harbaugh, Frederick CTC FFA; Austin Welty, Linganore FFA; Rileigh Lowdermilk, North Garrett FFA and Abigail Wimmer, Westminster FFA.
Greg Stull, agriculture teacher at Walkersville High School received an Honorary American FFA Degree
National Chapter Awards recognize local FFA Chapters that emphasize growing leaders, building communities, and strengthening agriculture.
Three-star winners were Boonsboro FFA and Brunswick FFA. Two-star winners were Catoctin FFA and Southern FFA. Receiving One Star was Parkside CTE.
Maryland FFA State Officers Kendall Abruzzese, Hannah Haines and Teagan Flaherty served as official delegates at the convention and received a state award for increasing membership during the 2021-22 year.

© American Farm Publications | Site designed by Diving Dog Creative