Select Page

Blue Jacket Bonanza awardees recognized

by | Mar 19, 2021

This year, 44 students will receive jackets from the Blue Jacket Bonanza during the Delaware FFA State Convention. (Photo courtesy Delaware Farm Bureau)

DOVER, Del. — The Delaware Farm Bureau recently announced the winners of its annual Blue Jacket Bonanza.
The program benefits students enrolled in the FFA program in Delaware who might be financially unable to purchase their own traditional blue jacket. They are awarded based on need, community service activities, leadership skills and a commitment to the FFA program.
Essays and reference letters are required of each applicant.
This year, 44 students will receive jackets from the Blue Jacket Bonanza during their Delaware FFA State Convention held every spring.
Since 2015, Delaware Farm Bureau has awarded 335 jackets totaling more than $17,000 through the program.
“To me, it was just an incredible feeling to own my first personal Sussex Tech FFA jacket. Wearing it connects me to the members and officers who came before me and keeps me focused on the goals ahead,” Sussex Technical High School student Taylor Bullis said during last year’s presentation at Delaware State University.
She received a blue jacket in 2019.
“To me, my blue jacket means much more than just my involvement in the FFA,” she added. “It symbolizes my growth as a person, as a student and as a leader. Our blue corduroy jacket is much more than just fabric and stitching. It’s a symbol of hope, of hard work, of determination, of sacrifice and of friendship. My blue corduroy jacket represents how the FFA, just like the Farm Bureau, has stood the test of time and will continue to stand.”
The following students, listed by school, will be awarded blue jackets from the DFB in 2021:
Lake Forest High School
Cole Murphy; Kailyn Pippin; Bethany Beyer; Jordan Hand; and Madison Houdek.
Caesar Rodney High School
Corinne Hastings; Katelyn Curtis; and Dillana Reed.
Odessa High School
Ann Wall; Chloe Myers; Ella Vandervort; Natalie Holdren; and Harmony Golden.
Appoquinimink High School
Jacey Wiley; Erin Kuzminski; and Edwina Chen.
Seaford High School
Lillie Larimore; and Leila Sturgill.
Laurel High School
Brayden Hearn.
Woodbridge High School
Laney Scott; Avery Kerrick; and Carley DeFord.
Middletown High School
McKenna Vest.
Milford Senior High School
Jorja Willey; Keyla Natareno; Aspen Balas; Colin O’Connor; Mason Foxwell; Victoria Wilson; Matthew Sacks; and Tyler Smith.
McKean High School
Connor Clinch.
Smyrna High School
Alexis Hodge; Payton Eierman; Zoe Bowers; Emma Gonzon; Ally Holmes; King; Ashlynn Barkley; Luke Michaud; Bailey Clark; Brandon Scuse; Orlan Kelley IV; and Michael Kaminski.


© American Farm Publications | Site designed by Diving Dog Creative