Sussex County 4-H honors achievement, service

by | Oct 12, 2018

Leaders Scholarship winners, from left, were Daniel Tull, Garrett Smith, Jenna Anger and Destiny Carmona. (Photo courtesy Michele Walfred)

GEORGETOWN, Del. — Sussex County 4-H held its annual Achievement Event on Sunday, Sept. 30.
More than 190 members and families attended and enjoyed the “4-H: Where Adventures Begin” travel theme.
A variety of awards were given to youth and volunteers for their time and commitment to the Sussex 4-H program.
A few of the featured awards are listed below.
To view all of the award winners, please the Sussex 4-H blog:
Joy Sparks Spirit of 4-H Award:
Sharon Anderson
The Joy Sparks Award is given in memory of Joy G. Sparks, past State 4-H Program Leader. Sparks was a lifelong 4-H member and embodied what it meant to be a 4-H’er using her Head, Heart, Hands and Health to better herself and her community. Award recipients are chosen based on their contributions to the 4-H program and keeping Joy’s Spirit of 4-H alive.
The 2018 Joy Sparks Award winner was Sharon Anderson, of Milton. Anderson was chosen for her continued involvement and dedication to 4-H activities as a volunteer leader.
Anderson’s first 4-H leadership role was as the Cloverbud Leader of Hollymount 4-H Club which serves the Lewes and Milton area, and soon became the organizational leader of Hollymount from 2006-2016. Anderson currently serves as the co-leader of the Sussex 4-H Dairy Club.
Anderson is a current member and past officer of the 4-H Leaders’ Association. Anderson volunteers at numerous 4-H events including as a nurse at many overnight and weekend events.
Under her leadership the Hollymount 4-H Club focused on community service in such projects as Beach Clean-ups, Adopt-a-Beach, Relay for Life, food basket drives, and making Meals on Wheels tray favors.
For seven years, Sharon helped present Leadership trainings to Sussex teens at Jr. Leader Weekend. These leadership sessions were based on the books, The 21 Irrefutable Laws of Leadership and The 17 Indisputable Laws of Teamwork by John C. Maxwell. Each year, the teens come away from the weekend learning important life skills and were encouraged to use the laws in their everyday lives.
At the ceremony, Anderson’s generosity of her time and dedication to inspiring young people toward community service was noted.
Friend of 4-H Award:
Rep. Harvey Kenton
The Friend of 4-H Award is given to businesses, organizations, and individuals that promote youth development and help Sussex 4-H attain their goals and objectives.
The recipient of the 2018 Friend of 4-H Award is Delaware Representative Harvey Kenton. Rep. Kenton has been a long-time supporter of the Delaware 4-H program. Kenton regularly attends numerous 4-H events in Sussex and Kent County, including every year at the 4-H Legislative Day every April. Kenton’s strong advocation for youth (in both 4-H and FFA) at Legislative Hall and at the Delaware State Fair, where he is a director was noted. He has also served as a judge for the State 4-H Public Speaking Contest for many years.
“Rep. Kenton never hesitates to attend 4-H events in Sussex and Kent Counties,” said Jill Jackson, extension 4-H educator. “Whether he helps hand out awards at Achievement Events or attends the Spaghetti Dinner & Auction or the Kent Basket Auction, he is always there with a smile on his face and a lends a hand wherever needed.”
Kenton accepted the award, remarking on the 4-H pledge that began the event, “You listen to that pledge and combine the Golden Rule, and it personifies 4-H. I am so proud that I have been a small part of this program.”
National Congress Participants Doug Crouse, State 4-H Program Leader, presented certificates to the National Congress participant, Kyle Morris of Millsboro.
He plans to travel to Atlanta in November to attend National 4-H Club Congress.
Exploring 4-H Award Winners Winners: Brooke Taylor
and Sam Gossett
(Honorable Mention: Keira Fletcher, Lewes and Seth Wroten, Bridgeville)
Leaders Association Scholarships
The Leaders Association Scholarship Award is given to outstanding 4-H’ers. The award takes into consideration: Completing 4-H project work and project book, Participation in County and State 4-H Activities, Providing Community Service, Demonstration of Leadership.
Winners receive a half scholarship to State 4-H Camp or State Conference. 4-H’ers may receive this award only once. The winners of the 2017 scholarships are:
Jenna Anger, Bridgeville and Garrett Smith, Ellendale
Alternate Winners: Destiny Carmona, Greenwood, and Daniel Tull, Millsboro
Sussex 4-H Order of Links Scholarships:
These scholarships are based on 4-H participation.
Recipients of these awards receive a full scholarship to Younger Member Weekend Camp.
Female Winner: Ruby DiSabatino, Frankford. Alternate: Caydance Means, Seaford
Male winner: Bradley Tomeski, Bridgeville. Alternate: Declan West, Milton
Phyllis Hill Memorial Award
Amy West presented the Phyllis Hill Memorial Award on behalf of the Hollymount 4-H Club. The recipient of this award was Shawn Mitchell. Shawn is a member of the Dublin Hill 4-H Club.
Barbara Taylor Memorial Award
Jake Shultie, Seaford, presented the Barbara Taylor Memorial Award. This award looks at overall participation in events, especially Public Speaking and Demonstrations.
The recipient of the award was Beth Krajewski, Lewes. Alternate was Carter Bradley, Laurel. The winner will receive a full scholarship to Younger Member Weekend.
Ida Layton Award
The Ida Layton Award is sponsored by the Layton Family in honor of Ida Layton, former 4-H leader and member of the Sussex County Horse Advisory. The 2018 Winner is Shawn Mitchell, Greenwood. Shawn is a member of the Dublin Hill 4-H Club and outgoing President of Sussex 4-H Jr. Council. He currently attends Frostburg State University.
4-H Spirit Awards
The 4-H Spirit Awards are similar to those given out to youth at State 4-H Camp each summer in Frankford. Recipients are awarded for how they represent the 4 H’s (Head, Heart, Hands, Health) and 4-H Spirit throughout the year. Five youth and one adult receive this award each year.
Head Award recipient: Ruby DiSabatino, Frankford
Heart Award recipient: Zane Adams, Seaford
Hands Award recipient: Emma Sparpaglione, Georgetown
Health Award recipient: Kyle Morris, Millsboro
Youth Spirit Award recipient: Kylee Reynolds, Frankford
Adult Spirit Award recipient: Jodie Gravenor, Millsboro.

1-800-634-5021 410-822-3965 Fax- 410-822-5068

P.O. Box 2026 Easton, MD 21601-8925

© American Farm Publications | Site designed by Diving Dog Creative